Review: Wicked Audio Helix Earbuds

Who doesn’t love music? Music has the incredible ability to stabilize us, motivate us, and connect with us on levels that we never knew existed. No matter the situation or the mood, music is almost always there to make a difference in our lives.

So, naturally, many of us take every chance we get to enjoy our favorite musicians and their works, including during exercise. Since I began running, I have almost always carried my iPod with me to keep me going – hearing the beat and feeling the rhythm (and the rhyme) pleases the tuba player inside me. But there’s always one thing that annoys me to no end on my runs: my headphones.

I’ve tried just about everything at this point – earbuds don’t like to stay in my ear, and large sets of headphones aren’t practical for many physical activities. After some searching (and money), I developed an affinity towards earbuds that hook around the ear. I preferred the cheap, one-size-fits-all brand that I could pick up at Target anytime – they were comfortable, durable, and generally didn’t fall out while running. Life was good, and I was enjoying my runs without worrying too much about my headphones.

Enter the Wicked Audio Helix earbuds:

Right off the bat, I was impressed with the three different sizes of buds that were included. I chose the smaller set and took a walk around the office. The sound quality was good, and I was especially happy with the snug fit around my ears. I shook my head, bobbed it up and down, and ran in place – no movement. I was excited about not having to adjust my headphones every five steps, but how would they hold up during a run?

After the debacle with the Somerset Stampede, I entered the Q-Town 5K/10K in Quincy, and decided to put them to the test. The warmup went well – not a huge accomplishment but I was happy I could focus on getting loose instead of on a dangling headphone. The run started, and I made sure that they were snug and comfortable around my ears. 3.1 miles later, I was done. Then it hit me – I hadn’t had to adjust the earbuds once during the 5K. They had stayed in place for my run, so much so that I had actually forgotten about them.

Bottom Line: If you’re fed up with worrying about your headphones falling off during your workout, give these a try. The sound quality won’t blow you away, but the music comes through clearly. Just a word of advice, you may have to play with the jack for a second to get the full sound, but it’s not an issue during the workout.

MSRP: $14.99

www.wickedheadphones.com

Leave a Reply

